How many counties in Mississippi are dry?
Currently, there are 29 dry counties in Mississippi. By default, all counties in Mississippi are dry and require an election to sell alcohol, thanks to a law passed in 1966.
When can you buy beer in Mississippi?
State law establishes the hours for on-premises sales of beer from 7:00 a.m. to midnight, 7 days a week. Municipal or county governments may, by ordinance, further restrict but not extend those hours.
What time can you buy alcohol in Mississippi on Sunday?
alcohol sales not permitted. Liquor may be served in bars and restaurants between can you buy alcohol on sunday in mississippi and p.m. on Sunday, and between a.m. and a.m., Monday through Saturday. Beer and wine may be served between a.m. and midnight on Sunday, and between a.m. and a.m., Monday through Saturday.
Is Oktibbeha County a dry county?
Oktibbeha County is a dry county. Starkville is located within Oktibbeha County but permits the sale and possession of alcohol. Mississippi State is aware of the arrests and will allow the legal process to play out before commenting.
Can you drink a beer and drive in Mississippi?
Essentially, there is no real law against public drinking in Mississippi. In fact, you can even drink alcohol while operating a motor vehicle, as the state has no open container laws.
Can I get a liquor license to sell from home?
Therefore you cannot apply for a liquor license on a residential property. The only way to ensure that your land use right is acceptable for an application for a liquor license is confirmation from your local Municipality (planning department or land use department).
Can you buy alcohol in Mississippi?
10:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. No Sunday sales after 1:00 a.m. M-Th: 10:00 a.m. to Midnight; F-Sat: 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m.
How much does a beer license cost in Mississippi?
Retail: The annual fee is $30.00 per location. Wholesale: The annual fee is $100 per county. Manufacturer: The fee is $1,000 for each place of business in Mississippi.
Can you buy beer in Tupelo MS on Sunday?
TUPELO, Miss. (AP) – Tupelo city officials have reversed a century-old ban on the Sunday sale of beer and light wine in restaurants and stores. The city council made the decision Tuesday night in a split vote and will allow Sunday sales from 1 p.m. to 10 p.m.
Does Walmart sell liquor in Mississippi?
Among the states, Walmart does not sell alcohol on Sundays in Mississippi, while in Nebraska, Walmart does. In other counties, alcohol can only be purchased from state-owned outlets. The sale of alcohol is prohibited in a few counties in New Jersey, Mississippi, and Arkansas.
Does Costco sell liquor in Mississippi?
(WJTV) – The Costco in Ridgeland will open to the public on March 12, 2020. This will be the first Costco location in Mississippi. The store will include a pharmacy, groceries, and a liquor store. “This is a great area.
Can minors drink with parents in Mississippi?
Yes, in any private location Note: Mississippi’s parent/guardian exception applies to those persons at least 18 years old and only for possession of light wine or beer. The location exception is not limited to persons between 18 and 21, and only applies to alcoholic beverages, not including light wine or beer.
Can you buy beer on Sunday in Starkville Mississippi?
Touting messages of progress and development, the Starkville Board of Aldermen Tuesday took another step toward allowing Sunday alcohol sales. The board voted 4-3 to amend its alcohol ordinance and allow businesses in the city to sell beer on Sundays.
Is Webster County MS a dry county?
Its county seat is Walthall, designated in 1876. After the repeal of Prohibition in 1933, Webster County voters established this as a “dry county.” In 2018 the legislature passed a bill allowing the transport of alcohol through even dry counties in the state.
Webster County, Mississippi.
Is Starkville MS dry?
Is Starkville A Dry County? Located in a dry region of the state, Oktibbeha County. In Starkville, you can buy and possess alcohol despite it being in Oktibbeha County.